Ease Into 5K – Week 1

Standard

exerciseThere is absolutely, definitely a completely appropriate angle to take with this post, I shall, however, be heading down the ‘can you possibly get into shape using your mobile phone’ road. Over the years and various incarnations of the delightful iPhone, I think I’ve installed quite a few ‘get fit’ apps, used them for about a week, got bored, gone in search of the next ‘free’ be less fat app . . . and repeat . . . until now. I am proud to announce that myself and Lisa not only paid for an app but we have actually completed Week 1 of the Ease into 5K app by @bluefinapp, and will be continuing to use this as our main training aid for the 5K Poppy Run in October *note – we now have a ticker tape countdown for The Poppy Run. Exciting*

The blurb:

What is the Ease into 5K running plan?

Ease into 5K is a beginner’s running plan created by Bluefin Software, LLC.

It is designed for people who are just taking up running

  • You alternate between walking and running until you build strength
  • It is an 8 week long plan
  • You workout 3 times a week, ideally with breaks between days
  • Each workout session is from 25-40 minutes long (including a 3 minute warm up and a 5 minute cool down)

For example: Week 1 Day 1: Welcome to your first workout. Start with a 5 minute warm-up then repeat 3 times the following intervals:

  • Run 30 seconds
  • Walk 45 seconds
  • Run 45 seconds
  • Walk 60 seconds
  • Run 60 seconds
  • Walk 90 seconds

Cool-down with a 5 minute walk.

Week 2 has you running a bit more than walking and so on for a total of 8 weeks. The goal is to get you running 30 minutes straight, roughly 5K.

There, doesn’t that sound amazingly easy . . . well, it kind of was, sort of, well, I didn’t pass out or need resuscitating so that was good. We’ve planned to do our runs on a Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  I have my STEPS gym sessions on a Wednesday and a Thursday *twiddles thumbs*  so I just need to find some form of punishing exercise regime for Tuesday, Saturday and Sunday . . . app based of course.

Carrying on the app based health and fitness, using the free My Fitness Pal app I’ve been tracking my daily intake of calories *not as bad as I thought it might be* and using it to track the calories I burn being all active and stuff. I also use it to track my weight loss, which is a not too shoddy 2lb for this first week. Next up on my increasing list of these ‘get fit’ apps is the Body Tracker app, this paid for app (69p) lets you enter all your measurements, including weight and body fat percentage, add a photo and have multiple users, for family members that wish to keep track of their decreasing measurements too. I’ve only just started using this app so I can’t say how I’ll find it until I fill in my next lot of measurements

I can’t finish this post without mentioning the NHS Smokefree app, mine is currently at 108 days 22 hrs and 35 mins . . . will be more now. I check it occasionally to remind myself how far I have come and that if I give in, it’ll take me another 108 days to get back to this point.

Join in with our Fitness journey on Twitter using the #LittlerFairies tag and let us know about your favourite ‘get fit’ apps.

Leave a comment